Monday, May 30, 2011

Panama... Panama (<-- song)

Hey guys! I survived Panama. Haha. It was so much fun. We're still in the port right now but on ship time has already passed. They had added time for when people are late, and we're so good that no one has been late at either port! So we get Toy Story 3 tonight as a reward. This was a really really interesting port, in more ways than one. Yesterday morning I went to the SOS children's village in Aldeous.  It was so much fun. We got to interact with the children and the tias. That is when I realized that I actually know enough spanish to "float" No one there spoke english, but we had chores to do. I talked to my tia and was so happy when I got back. That is a really surreal experience to have a conversation with someone who doesnt speak your native language. We had our cameras out and the children dont see them much, so a lot of us let them take pictures. I was so cute... but most of my pictures are feet. Who ever had christina's camera followed me so I'm on her camera. The girl who had my camera followed christina... so we're going to have to swap pictures. After that we tried to go to Panama City. Notice I said tried! So many students got off the ship after FDPs to load in taxis to Panama City. My taxi had 13 people 4 of which were adults. Somehow we got the rogue driver who REFUSED to take us to Panama City. He kept saying it was dangerous... even though he was driving us through old Panama (scary) I got a ton of pictures of the sites though during our 7 hour taxi ride.... yes 7 hours. I saw the milaflores (pacific side) locks, the president's house, a church with a shiney alter, a market, and a lot of other things against my will. At one point he even told us to "stay here" while he went and got dinner for an hour! We keep lovingly calling it the taxi ride from hell. Everyone but us made it over there. Good news is, we heard the city was slightly overrated and that there was only a beach... so it'll be the same everywhere. Good news is we got the best story. Today I went to the Gatun Locks (on the atlantic side). It was so cool. The ships are too huge!!! After that we went to the free zone. The free zone is a gated city near the dock. I got some local goodies while I was there and talked completely in spanish again. Cuantos Cuestos is my newest phrase.  We only have one class day until Costa Rica! We already have preport tomorrow! weird! I have so many pictures from the lock. It really looks like I was there for 10 days.

No comments:

Post a Comment